Fashion or Fail? People at the Niles Car Show

I previously posted about the Niles Car Show. There were many people showing their vehicles and many more enjoying the show. Unfortunately for me, I am extremely self-conscious when it comes to photographing people. I don’t want to intrude on them, even though I’m told most people don’t mind being photographed and many actually enjoy it. I just can’t bring myself to do it if I think I might be noticed.

But there were so many interesting people at the show, I had to figure some way to capture their images.

I decided to just dangle the camera at the end of my arm at thigh-height. When I saw someone I found interesting, I pointed the camera in their general direction and pressed the shutter release. I tried to keep the lens on my Canon 5D Mark II set at 105mm,  exposure on ‘program’ and the ISO at 400 so the shutter speed and aperture would be chosen to both maximize depth of field and minimize motion blur on this brightly lit day.

The resulting images are, to say the least, different from what I normally create. I’d like to think they are artistic. But perhaps they are merely, to be charitable, ‘casual’.

You decide!

Woman with parasol
Woman with parasol, Niles Car Show
Fuchsia
Fuchsia
Mother with stroller
Mother with stroller

Woman at the Niles Car Show
Woman at the Niles Car Show
Old man at the Niles Car Show
Old man at the Niles Car Show
